October 2003 AAOS Report

AAOS Board accepts Bayer award, approves new members, creates new membership categories

AAOS Board of Directors met on Sept. 12-13, 2003 in Rosemont, Ill. with James H. Herndon, MD, president, presiding.

At a luncheon ceremony, the Academy received the 2003 "Partner Award" from the Bayer Institute for Health Care Communication. John R. Tongue, MD, the chair and impetus of the program, accepted the trophy on the Academy's behalf. Bayer Institute CEO Gregory Carroll, PhD, presented the award.

The Board approved the applications of 639 Fellows and two Associate Members as recommended by the Membership Committee.

The Board approved a pledge for $15,000 to help support the ACGME Residency Review Committee.

The Board approved proposing four new associate member categories: associate member-orthopaedic, associate member-osteopathic, associate resident member-osteopathic and associate candidate member-osteopathic. The Board approved the revised advisory statements, "Orthopaedic Medical Testimony" (Doc. No. 1006) and the "Commitment to Excellence: Maintaining Skills and Knowledge Through Lifelong Learning" (Doc. No. 1001) as well as a new advisory statement on "Recognition for Authoring and Editing Digital Publications" (Doc. No. 1025).

AAOS Home Previous Page