October 1996 AAOS Report

Academy announces Kappa Delta, OREF Award winners

The Academy's Board of Directors, in conjunction with the Council on Research and Scientific Affairs and Committee on Research, announced the winners of the Kappa Delta Awards and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation Clinical Research Award. William E. Garrett Jr., MD; Anthony V. Seaber; Thomas M. Best, MD; Richard R. Glisson, BS; Pantelis K. Nikolaou, MD; and Dean C. Taylor, MD will receive the Ann Doner Vaughn Award for their paper "Muscle Strain Injury: Basic Science and Clinical Application." The Elizabeth Winston-Lanier Award will be awarded to James N. Weinstein, DO, MS; Kevin F. Spratt, PhD; G.F. Gebhart, PhD; Mamoru Kawakami, MD; Stephen T. Meller, PhD; Nobuhiro Hayashi, MD; Hwanmo Lee, MD; and Ken-Inchi Chatani, MD for their work entitled "Lumbar Radiculopathy: An Animal Model with Relevance to Clinical Practice." Denis R. Clohisy, MD will receive the Young Investigator Award for his paper "Cellular Mechanisms of Tumor Osteolysis." The OREF Clinical Research Award will be given to Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD; Diane Martin; Ruth Engelberg; and Julie Agel for their paper entitled "The Development and Validation of a Musculoskeletal Extremity Health Status Instrument: The Musculoskeletal Functional Assessment Instrument."

AAOS Home Previous Page