AAOS Report - September, 2005

Names in the news

E. Anthony Rankin, MD, editor-in-chief of the Bulletin, was granted affiliate status on Aug. 14 with the Daughters of Charity in Emmitsburg, Md. Dr. Rankin’s new status recognizes the “generous gifts of time, talent and treasure” that he has provided. “Thank you for all you do with and for the Daughters of Charity on behalf of those who are poor and vulnerable,” said Sister Elyse Staab, DC . . . J. Richard Steadman, MD, received the 2005 Mr. Sports Medicine award from the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM), which is bestowed annually on a person who has provided outstanding and meritorious service to the field of orthopaedic sports medicine, nationally and internationally . . . The AOSSM Board of Directors for 2005-06 includes William A. Grana, MD, MPH, president; Champ L. Baker Jr., MD, president-elect; Bernard R. Bach Jr., MD, vice president; Robert A. Stanton, MD, secretary; Carol C. Teitz, MD, treasurer; and Edward M. Wojtys, MD; Michael G. Ciccotti, MD; and Andrew J. Cosgarea, MD, members at large . . . Robert H. Haralson III, MD, MBA, executive director of the AAOS medical affairs department, was recently honored for his many contributions to Blount Memorial Hospital in his hometown of Maryville, Tenn. The Tennessee state legislature issued a proclamation (HR 584) recognizing him for the award as well as his long-standing work as a Tennessee orthopaedist. The Blount Foundation honored Dr. Haralson’s late father, Robert H. Haralson Jr., MD, an anesthesiologist, with the same award in 1997. “We’re the first father-son team to receive the award,” said Dr. Haralson.

Close Archives | Previous Page