September 1998 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Norman S. Schachar, MD, received the outstanding service award from the Canadian Orthopaedic Association. Dr. Schachar also was elected to serve as COA representative to the Academy's Board of Councilors . . . The Rhode Island Orthopaedic Society elected Edward Akelman, MD, president; Michael J. Infantolino, MD, vice president; Ira J. Singer, MD, secretary-treasurer; and John A. Froehlich, MD, and Gregory J. Austin, MD, representatives-at-large . . . The American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society elected Ronald W. Smith, MD, president; Thomas O. Clanton, MD, president-elect; Michael J. Shereff, MD, vice president; Glenn B. Pfeffer, MD, secretary; and E. Greer Richardson, MD, treasurer . . . New officers of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine are Douglas W. Brown, MD, president; William G. Clancy Jr., MD, president-elect; Walton W. Curl, MD, vice president; Jack B. Ryan, MD, treasurer-elect; and Kevin P. Black, MD, member-at-large . . . New officers of the Association of Children's Prosthetic-Orthotic Clinics are Robert Harry Newell Fielden, MD, president; James Harder, MD, vice president; and Kenneth J. Guidera, MD, secretary-treasurer.

AAOS Home Previous Page