Today's News

Saturday, February 16, 2002

Board Members Elected; Resolutions, Bylaws approved

During the Academy's Annual Business Meeting, Fellows elected seven new members to the Board of Directors. They are: Glenn B. Pfeffer, MD, Secretary of COMSS; David G. Lewallan, MD, Chair-elect of COMSS; Peter J. Mandell, MD, Secretary of the Board of Councilors; Stephen A. Albanese, MD, Member-at-Large; Gerald R. Williams Jr., MD, Member-at-Large; Edward A. Toriello, MD, Treasurer-Elect; and Robert W. Buchholz, MD, Second Vice President.

2001-2002 President Richard H. Gelberman, MD, recognized retiring members of the Board: Robert D. D'Ambrosia, MD, Second Past-President; Darren L. Johnson, MD, Member-at-Large; Thomas P. Sculco, MD, Member-at-Large; David A. Halsey, MD, Board of Councilors Chair; and Gary E. Friedlaender, MD, COMSS Chair. Thomas Einhorn, MD, retiring Chair of the Council on Research and Scientific Affairs was also recognized.

Fellows also approved two groups of changes to the Bylaws. The first group modified the procedure and voting process for adoption of resolutions and bylaws amendments; the second group changed the composition of the AAOS Board of Directors.

Three resolutions received a five-year review and were adopted as amended.

During the Association's Annual Meeting, Fellows submitted names for the 2003 Nominating Committee. Final selection of the Nominating Committee will occur by ballot in August 2002.

A resolution to adopt a dues structure that incorporates a 50% reduction in dues for Fellows serving active duty in the U.S. Army, Navy, or Air Force, including military reservists who have been activated by the government, was also adopted.

Previous Page
2002 Academy News February 16 Index A

Last modified 16/February/2002