Today's News

Saturday, March 13, 2004

AAOS Fellows elect new board members

AAOS Fellows elected Richard F. Kyle, MD, Second Vice President; Frances A. Farley, MD, Member-at-Large under age 45, and Oheneba Boachi-Adjei, MD, Member-at-large, no age designation, to the Board of Directors during yesterday's Annual Business Meeting. They join newly elected Board of Director members Dwight W. Burney III, MD, Board of Councilors (BOC) Secretary, and Andrew N. Pollack, Council of Musculoskeletal Specialty Societies (COMSS) Secretary.

During the Academy's 70th Annual Business Meeting, Fellows heard financial reports from Academy Treasurer Edward A. Toriello, MD, and Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation Chairman Victor M.Goldberg, MD. Richard B. Welch, MD, presented the report of the Resolutions Committee. Two Academy resolutions and one Association resolution were considered. The recommendations on the Resolutions will be distributed to all Fellows after the Annual Meeting. At least 20 percent of the Fellowship must vote on the Resolutions, and at least 51 percent of those voting must approve them.

During the Association's Annual Business Meeting, Fellows submitted names for the 2005 Nominating Committee. Final selection of the Nominating Committee will occur by ballot in August 2003. Paul C. Collins, MD, Chair of the Political Action Committee, presented a report on contributions received and participation.

Garth S. Russell, MD, Chair of the Bylaws Committee, reported on three groups of proposed Association Bylaws Amendments: one relating to the admissions process, one on other orthopaedic surgeon members, and one on osteopathic members.

Retiring members of the Board were applauded for their service. They are: Richard H. Gelberman, MD, second past president; E. Anthony Rankin, MD, secretary; Stephen A. Albanese, MD, member-at-large (over age 45); Gerald R. Williams Jr., MD, member-at-large (under age 45); Maureen A. Finnegan, MD, BOC secretary; and David G. Lewallen, MD, COMSS chair. Joseph A. Ianotti, MD, who retired as chair of the Council on Academic Affairs, also was recognized.

Continuing Board members include: Robert W. Bucholz, MD, president; Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, first vice president; James H. Herndon, MD, first past president; Vernon T. Tolo, MD, second past president; Edward A. Toriello, MD, treasurer; Leslie L. Altick, MBA, lay member; Frederick M. Azar, MD, member-at-large (under age 45); Laura L. Tosi, MD, member-at-large (no age designation); Peter J. Mandell, MD, BOC-chair; Frank B. Kelly, MD, BOC-vice chair; Glenn B. Pfeffer, MD, COMSS-chair; Mark C. Gebhardt, MD, COMSS-vice chair; and Karen L. Hackett, FACHE, CAE, ex officio.

Earlier, during the Ceremonial Meeting, John R. Tongue, MD, was honored for his work with the Communications Skills Mentoring Program. An honorary membership in the AAOS was awarded to William W. Tipton Jr., MD.

Previous Page
2004 Academy News 2004 Academy News March 13 Index A

Last modified 13/March/2004