Today's News

Wednesday, March 10, 2004

Kappa Delta, OREF Awards presented

By Mary Ann Porucznik

Significant musculoskeletal research was honored on Tuesday, March 9, with the presentation of several award-winning papers during the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS) meeting held at The Muscone Center West, Level 3.

The Ann Doner Vaughan Award was presented to Brian D. Snyder, MD, PhD; John A. Hipp, PhD, and Ara Nazarian, MSc for their paper on "Non-Invasive Prediction of Fracture Risk Due to Benign and Metastatic Skeletal Defects."

The Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award was presented to Joseph S. Torg, MD; Helene Pavlov, MD, and Albert Burstein, PhD for their work on "The Pathomechanics, Phathophysiology and Prevention of Reversible and Irreversible Cervical Spinal Cord Injury: Results of a 30-year Clinical Experience."

The Young Investigator Award went to Johnny Huard, PhD, for "Gene Therapy and Tissue Engineering based on Muscle-derived Stem Cells: Potential for Musculoskeletal Tissue Regeneration and Repair."

The Clinical Research Award sponsored by the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) was presented by Thomas A. Einhorn, MD, vice chair, OREF Grants Committee, to Frank R. Noyes, MD; Edward Grood, PhD; Thomas Andriacchi, PhD, and Sue Barber-Westin, BS. Their paper focused on "Factors Affecting the Treatment of Anterior Cruciate Ligament-Deficient Knees with Lower Limb Malalignment and Associated Ligamentous Instabilities: A Correlated, Clinical, Biomechanical and Dynamic Gait Analysis."

History of the awards

The Kappa Delta Sorority established the Kappa Delta Research Fellowship in Orthopaedics as part of its Golden Anniversary in 1947. It was the first award ever created to honor achievements in the field of orthopaedic research. The first annual award, a single stipend of $1,000, was made available to the Academy in 1949 and presented at the 1950 Annual Meeting.

In 1961, Kappa Delta increased the number of awards from one to three. Over time, the dollar value of the award has been increased and is currently $20,000 each. In the years since their inception, the Kappa Delta Awards have totaled over a million dollars. Two awards are named for national presidents who were instrumental in their creation: Elizabeth Winston Lanier and Ann Doner Vaughan; the thirds is known as the Young Investigator's Award.

The OREF Board of Trustees created the OREF Clinical Research Award to encourage clinical research in orthopaedics. First presented in 1995, this award includes a $20,000 stipend.

Other awards

Several other awards were presented, honoring various aspects of orthopaedic research. The Marshall R. Urist Award, which recognizes cutting-edge research in tissue regeneration, was presented to Rocky S. Tuan, PhD, Branch Chief, Cartilage Biology and Orthopaedics Branch of the Intramural Research Program for the National Institute of Arthritis and Muscluloskeletal and Skin Diseases.

The Arthur Steindler International Research Award is presented on even-numbered years to an individual, generally from outside the United States, who has made significant contributions to the understanding of musculoskeletal disease during his/her professional lifetime. The 2004 Award was presented to Stefan Lohmander, MD, PhD, Professor of the Department of Orthopaedics, University Hospital, University of Lund, Sweden.

2002, the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS) and the American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) created the ORS/AOA Alfred R. Shands Awards to recognize a senior contributor in the field of orthopaedics. The award was presented to James D. Heckman, MD, past president of the AAOS and Editor-in-Chief and Chief Executive Officer of the Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery.

The William Harris Award, created in 1996 and sponsored by the Harris Fellows Club, recognizes basic and/or clinical research involving the hip. This year's award was presented to Takashi Nishii, MD, PhD, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Osaka University Medical School.

Previous Page
2004 Academy News 2004 Academy News March 10 Index C

Last modified 19/February/2004