Business meetings end with new officers

Yesterday’s Annual Business Meetings of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) ended with the election of new members to the AAOS Boards of Directors.

The Academy meeting began with a report by the AAOS Treasurer Edward A. Toriello, MD, which was followed by the report of the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation. Richard B. Welch, MD, chair of the Resolutions Committee, presented the committee’s recommendations on the three Academy resolutions under consideration; George L. Lucas, MD, chair of the Bylaws Committee, presented the committee’s recommendations on the proposed Bylaws amendments, including the proposed Standards of Professionalism.

During the Association meeting immediately following, nominations for the 2007 Nominating Committee were accepted from the floor. William J. Robb III, MD, treasurer of the Political Action Committee (PAC), reported on the funds raised and distributed by the PAC. Dr. Welch then presented the Resolutions Committee’s recommendations on the five Association resolutions under consideration. The fellowship will have the opportunity to vote on the resolutions and Bylaws following the 2006 Annual Meeting.

Vernon T. Tolo, MD, chair of the 2006 Nominating Committee, acknowledged the multiple qualifications of all whose names were under consideration, and thanked the members of his committee for their hard work. He then presented the recommended slate for the AAOS Board of Directors, which was adopted:

Before adjourning the meeting, Dr. Weinstein recognized the retiring members of the Board of Directors: Frances A. Farley, MD; Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD; Robert W. Bucholz, MD; James H. Herndon, MD, and Edward A. Toriello, MD. He then called the new Board members on stage, to the applause of the fellowship.

Home Previous Page