Kappa Delta and OREF present awards for best research papers

The Kappa Delta sorority and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) today announced the winners of the 2006 Kappa Delta Awards and the OREF Clinical Research Award at a presentation in the Lakeside Room at McCormick Place.

Ranjan Gupta, MD; Laura S. Rummler, MS; Tahseen Mozaffar, MD; and Oswald Steward, PhD, received the Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award for their paper titled “Schwann cell regulation of chronic nerve injury.”

Recipients of the Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughan Award were Tong-Chuan He, MD, PhD, and Rex C. Haydon, MD, PhD, for their research into defining “The Distinct Roles of Bone Morphogenetic Proteins in Mesenchymal Stem Cell Differentiation.”

Kappa Delta’s Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award went to Kristy Weber, MD; Michele Doucet, MS; and Scott Kominsky, PhD, for a paper titled “Growth Factor Receptor Signaling Blockade in Renal Cell Carcinoma Bone Metastasis.”

The 2006 OREF Clinical Research Award was presented to the authors of “Using clinical and economic outcome data to influence health policy in the United States: The case of total joint replacement.” Principal investigator on the study was Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA, along with Patricia Katz, PhD; Jonathan Showstack, PhD; James Naessens, MPH; Harry E. Rubash, MD; Michael D. Ries, MD; and Daniel J. Berry, MD.

History of awards

During their Golden Anniversary commemoration in 1947, Kappa Delta Sorority established the annual Kappa Delta Research Fellowship in Orthopaedics. Over the years, the award has grown from one recipient paper and $1,000 stipend to three recipient papers, each receiving an award of $20,000. Since 1950, Kappa Delta has given nearly $1.1 million in support of orthopaedic research through these awards.

The OREF is the only independent, surgeon-driven organization supporting research in the musculoskeletal area. The Board of Trustees presented the first Clinical Research Award and accompanying $20,000 stipend in 1994. The award is given to encourage clinical research in orthopaedics.

Home Previous Page