Today's News

Sunday, February 07, 1999

New Academy officers installed

Robert D. D'Ambrosia, MD, was named the new president of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, the 501(c)(3) educational organization, and the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons, the parallel-membership 501(c)(6) organization that was created to conduct the health policy objectives of the orthopaedic specialty. Both organizations have the same Board of Directors members.

S. Terry Canale, MD, was named first vice president, and Richard Gelberman, MD, second vice president. William R. Robb III, was reappointed secretary and Stuart A. Hirsch, MD, was reappointed treasurer.

The Board of Directors includes James D. Heckman, MD, past president; Douglas W. Jackson, MD, past president; Joseph Ionnatti, MD, member-at-large; Ramon Jimenez, MD, member-at-large; Thomas P. Schmalzried, MD, member at large; and William Sims, MD, member at large.

Other members of the Board are Edward A. Toriello, MD, chairman of the Board of Councilors; John R. Tongue, MD, chairman-elect of the Board of Councilors; David Halsey, MD, secrertary of the Board of Councilors; Vernon T. Tolo, MD, chairman of the Council of Musculoskeletal Specialty Societies; and Richard Welch, MD, chairman-elect, Council of Musculoskeletal Specialty Societies. William W. Tipton Jr., MD, executive vice president, is ex-officio.

The American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons held its first business meeting since it was formed.

1999 Academy News Feb. 7 Index A
Previous Page

Last modified 07/February/1999