Business meetings end with election of new officers

Business meetings end with election of new officers

Yesterday’s annual Business Meetings of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) ended with the election of new members to the AAOS Boards of Directors.

The Academy meeting began with a report by the AAOS Treasurer, William L. Healy, MD, which was followed by the report of the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation, presented by Charles A. Rockwood Jr., MD.

Richard B. Welch, MD, chair of the Resolutions Committee, presented the committee’s recommendations on the three Academy resolutions under consideration; George L. Lucas, MD, chair of the Bylaws Committee, presented the committee’s recommendations on the three groups of proposed Bylaws amendments that apply to both the Academy and the Association Bylaws.

During the Association meeting immediately following, nominations for the 2008 Nominating Committee were accepted from the floor. Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, chairman of the Orthopaedic Political Action Committee (PAC), reported on the funds raised and participation in the PAC. Dr. Welch then presented the Resolutions Committee’s recommendations on the three Association resolutions under consideration. Dr. Lucas presented the Bylaws Committee’s recommendations on the two Association bylaw amendments and the two proposed Standards of Professionalism (SOPs). The fellowship will have the opportunity to vote on the resolutions, bylaw amendments and SOPs following the 2007 Annual Meeting.

James H. Herndon, MD, chair of the Nominating Committee, acknowledged the multiple qualifications of all whose names were under consideration, and thanked the members of the committee for their hard work. He then presented the recommended slate for the AAOS Board of Directors, which was adopted:

James H. Beaty, MD


E. Anthony Rankin, MD

First Vice President

Joseph P. Zuckerman, MD

Second Vice President

Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA

Member-at-large, under age 45

Christopher D. Harner, MD

Member-at-large, no age designation

Dr. Herndon also announced the names of the nominees to serve on the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgeons—Nancy M. Cummings, MD; Douglas R. Dirschl, MD; Regis O’Keefe, MD; and Terry L. Thompson, MD—and the Nominee to the National Membership Committee, Dwight W. Burney III, MD.

Before adjourning the meeting, Dr. Kyle recognized the retiring members of the Board of Directors: Stuart L. Weinstein, MD; Gordon M. Aamoth, MD; Leslie Altick; Dwight W. Burney III, MD; and Andrew N. Pollak, MD. He then called the new Board members to the stage, to the applause of the fellowship.

Close Archives | Previous Page