Kappa Delta, OREF winners honored today - Academy News at the 2007 AAOS Annual Meeting

Kappa Delta, OREF winners honored today

The winners of the 2007 Kappa Delta Awards and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Award will be recognized today during the Opening Ceremonies of the AAOS Annual Meeting.

The 2007 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award is Constance R. Chu, MD, who outlined her career in “Integrating Bench to Operating Room: Journey of a Clinician-Scientist.”

Christian Gerber, MD, FRCSEd(hon) (right, front) will receive the 2007 OREF Clinical Research Award for his work on “Rotator Cuff Disease: From Scientific Understanding to Patient Care.”

Recipients of the Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughan Award are David L. Butler, PhD, Natalia Juncosa- Melvin, PhD, Gregory P. Boivin, DVM, Marc T. Galloway, MD, Jason T. Shearn, PhD, Cynthia Gooch, BS, and Hani Awad, PhD, for their research on “Functional Tissue Engineering for Tendon Repair: A Multidisciplinary Strategy using Mesenchymal Stem Cells, Bioscaffolds and Mechanical Stimulation.”

Winners of Kappa Delta’s 2007 Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award are Martha L. Gray, PhD, and coauthors Deborah Burstein, PhD, Young-Jo Kim MD, PhD, and Alice Maroudas, PhD, for their paper on “Magnetic Resonance Imaging of Cartilage Glycosaminoglycan: Basic Principles, Imaging Technique, and Clinical Applications.”

The work of Christian Gerber, MD, FRCSEd(hon) on “Rotator Cuff Disease: From Scientific Understanding to Patient Care” will be honored with the 2007 OREF Clinical Research Award.

History of awards

During their Golden Anniversary commemoration in 1947, Kappa Delta Sorority established the annual Kappa Delta Research Fellowship in Orthopaedics. Over the years, the award has grown from one recipient paper and $1,000 stipend to three recipient papers, each receiving an award of $20,000. Since 1950, Kappa Delta has given nearly $1.1 million in support of orthopaedic research through these awards. The OREF is the only independent, surgeon-driven organization supporting research in the musculoskeletal area. The Board of Trustees presented the first Clinical Research Award and accompanying $20,000 stipend in 1994. The award is given to encourage clinical research in orthopaedics.

Close Archives | Previous Page