April 2001 Bulletin

AAOS honors three for service dedication

Certificates of honorary membership in the AAOS were presented at the Annual Meeting in San Francisco by S. Terry Canale, MD, AAOS president, to three individuals.

Mary Lou Farley, who has been active in OREF, having served as vice chairman of the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) National Board from 1955 to 2000, was honored for her work in generating interest and funds for orthopaedic advancement. As a member of the National Board, she worked with orthopaedic surgeons and recruited other nonsurgeons, who were motivated to assist OREF in its fundraising and educational objectives.

Thomas M. Coffman, former president of OREF, was honored for his impact on orthopaedics in developing major gifts programs. "With the strong leadership and commitment of his Board of Trustees, Tom’s vision and determination moved OREF to the top rank of medical specialty foundations," Dr. Canale said. He began the Shands Circle which receives annual giving of about $7 million a year. During his tenure, OREF announced plans for Campaign 2000: Leaders for Orthopaedic Progress, with a goal of $40 million by the end year 2000. The fundraising reached more than $55 million.

Carole Murphy, director of the AAOS department of convention and meeting services, was cited for her successful career, spanning 20 years. She was the first director of the department of specialty services and oversaw the addition of Specialty Society Day to the Annual Meeting. She became director of the convention and meeting service department in 1993, responsible for the Academy’s Annual Meeting.

"Throughout all of her activities on behalf of the Academy, Carole has repeatedly demonstrated a remarkable ability to work with anyone—exhibitors, staff and orthopaedic surgeons and spouses," Dr. Canale said. He cited her "keen attention to detail that makes each meeting work and an astounding ability to handle thousands of different, difficult matters at once. These traits have greatly benefited the Academy and have made our Annual Meeting one of the most successful in the nation and world."

Home Previous Page