April 2002 Bulletin

First class of Leadership Fellows chosen

The AAOS Board of Directors at their meeting February 11 in Dallas approved the Inaugural Class of AAOS Leadership Fellows. These individuals become the first participants in the Leadership Fellows Program (LFP), established in December 2001.

The purpose of the LFP is to identify future leaders from the younger members of AAOS who have little previous volunteer or leadership experience and prepare them to assume roles of responsibility within AAOS. Additional goals of the program include establishing a formal mentoring relationship between participants and established leaders and enhancing skills for those members who have already assumed leadership roles with the AAOS.

Stephen England, MD, MPH, chair of the Leadership Fellows Programs, Project Oversight Team, said, "The selection process was very challenging as we selected 15 fellows from more than 50 highly qualified candidates."

"With their selection, we then matched the Fellows with Mentors drawn from the ranks of our experienced volunteers, including committee chairs, Board members, Board of Councilors representatives, residency program chairs and other senior leaders," Dr. England added. "These Mentors will play an integral role in the LFP. As advisor and confidant to the LFP Fellow, the Mentor will foster an ongoing professional and personal relationship that, hopefully, will evolve into one that extends beyond the boundaries of this program."

The LFP is a one-year program and requires a commitment by the participants to attend several training programs during that time. The first formal training event they attended was the AAOS Leadership Orientation Program, held March 13, 2002 at AAOS headquarters in Rosemont, Illinois. They will also participate in the National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference, April 24—27 in Washington, DC, which includes legislative programs, leadership development sessions and visits to Capitol Hill.

Those applicants selected as Inaugural Fellows, along with their Mentors, include the following:




Frederick M. Azar, MD

Memphis, Tenn.

Carl L. Nelson, MD

Joseph Benevenia, MD

Roseland, NJ

Mark C. Gebhardt, MD

Howard Epps, MD

Houston, Texas

Terry S. Canale, MD

Steven L. Frick, MD

Charlotte, NC

John P. Dormans, MD

David Hak, MD

Gold River, Calif.

Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD

Michelle A. James, MD

Sacramento, Calif.

William P. Cooney, MD

John S. Kirkpartick, MD

Birmingham, Calif.

James H. Herndon, MD

Mary O’Connor, MD

Jacksonville, Fla.

Gary E. Friedlaender, MD

Norman Y. Otsuka, MD

LaCanada Flintridge, Calif.

Vernon T. Tolo, MD

Craig S. Roberts, MD

Louisville, KY.

Andrew J. Weiland, MD

David S. Ruch, MD

Winston-Salem, NC

Richard H. Gelberman, MD

Kevin L. Smith, MD

Seattle, Wash.

James H. Weinstein, MD

Terry L. Thompson, MD

Washington, DC

Robert D. D’Ambrosia

Michael Vitale, MD

New York, NY

Laura L. Tosi, MD

A.J. Yates, Jr., MD

Morgantown, W.Va.

John R. Tongue, MD

Home Previous Page