April 2002 Bulletin

Councilors kick off new year

Elect officers, plan activities

The AAOS Board of Councilors (BOC), which represents all fifty states, Puerto Rico, Canada and the military, met during the AAOS Annual Meeting in Dallas to elect new officers and plan activities for the coming year. The Councilors’ top priorities for 2002 will be fighting the drastic cuts in Medicare physician payments, the medical malpractice insurance premium crisis and the negative impact of federal law on emergency room coverage (i.e., EMTALA legislation).

These issues will be the focus of the April National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference, during which Councilors and other orthopaedic leaders will spend a day on Capital Hill visiting with key policymakers. The AAOS is involved in several legislative initiatives on each of these issues and the"Hill visits" will be a key part of these initiatives.

Also at their meeting, the Councilors provided input on AAOS activities in education, public and media relations, member communications, health policy and practice, and academic affairs.

In addition, the Councilors elected a slate of new officers including Maureen Finnegan, MD (Tex.) as Chair-Elect, and Peter Mandell, MD (Calif.) as Secretary-Treasurer. K. Thomas Reichard, MD and Courtney Brown, MD, were elected Members-at-Large of the Executive Committee. In addition, Lowry Jones, MD (MO) became the new BOC Chair, succeeding David Halsey, MD (Vt.).

Home Previous Page