April 2002 Bulletin

OREF Announces New Grants and Awards

By Jean McGuire

The Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) continues its support of advancements in orthopaedics through education and research grants to individuals, institutions and groups. In August 2001, OREF received 272 grant applications requesting over $14.7 million in funding. In November, OREF’s Peer Review Committee volunteers evaluated the scientific merit of each application through a rigorous peer review process, modeled after the National Institutes of Health. The applications were then ranked, and funding recommendations were made.

Based on the recommendations of the Peer Review Committees and the amount of funds available from annual fundraising efforts and endowment earnings, the OREF Board of Trustees made final decisions to fund 102 grants and awards totaling over $3.2 million at the OREF Board of Trustees Meeting held February 12 in Dallas. Among the grants and awards being funded are:

This year’s Career Development Award recipients are Robert F. LaPrade, MD, Steven A. Lietman, MD, and Ken Yamaguchi, MD. Prospective Clinical Research Awards were awarded to Michael J. Bosse, MD, K. Daniel Riew, MD, and Kurt P. Spindler, MD.

OREF is able to fund additional research through partnerships with individual donors, associations and corporate donors. This year, Dr. Darryl D. D’Lima’s Research grant will be funded through an endowment established by Dr. Dane and Mrs. Mary Louise Miller. Additionally, the Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation, and Synthes (USA) and AO/ASIF Foundation are supporting two of the 14 research grants funded. The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons, the Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation, Organon Sanofi-Synthelabo, L.L.C. and Sulzer Medica, Inc. share in supporting seven of the 12 Resident Research Awards announced during the AAOS Annual Meeting in Dallas.

This year’s OREF Clinical Research Award winners are Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD and Kenneth J. Koval, MD, both from Hospital for Joint Diseases for their project Hip Fractures in the Elderly: A Comprehensive Clinical and Research Approach.

Bristol-Myers Squibb/Zimmer will continue to fund the remaining years for its Grants For Excellence in Research in Orthopaedic Treatment. In addition, Zimmer is funding seven Orthopaedic Surgery Career Development Awards this year. Organon Sanofi-Synthelabo, L.L.C. provided funding for a Practice Management Symposium for orthopaedic residents at the Current Concepts in Joint Replacement meeting held in Orlando during December.

OREF’s Board of Trustees would like to congratulate the 2002 grant and award recipients. A complete listing of OREF’s awardees is available for viewing on the OREF web site at http://www.oref.org.

Jean McGuire is OREF CFO and Vice President of Grants.

Home Previous Page