April 2003 Bulletin

Councilors plan new year’s activities, elect officers

New Board of Councilors Officers are
(left to right) Frank Kelly, MD, (Secretary),
Peter Mandell, MD, (Chair-elect),
Maureen Finnegan, MD (Chair), and
Lowry Jones, MD (Immediate-past chair)

The AAOS Board of Councilors (BOC), which represents all 50 states, Puerto Rico, Canada and the military, met on Feb. 5, 2003 to elect new officers and plan activities for the coming year. The Councilors’ top priorities for 2003 will be to address the continued cuts in Medicare physician payments and the medical liability insurance premium crisis.

These issues will be the focus of the National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference, to be held during April in Washington, D.C.

Also at their meeting, the Councilors provided input on AAOS activities in education, public and media relations, member communications, health policy and practice, and academic affairs.

In addition, the Councilors elected new officers including Frank Kelly, MD (Ga.) as Secretary and Peter Mandell, MD (Calif.) as Chair-Elect. Also, Maureen Finnegan, MD (Tex.) became the new BOC Chair succeeding Lowry Jones, MD (Mo.).

Home Previous Page