April 2004 Bulletin

2004 CAC international scholarships awarded

In a presentation during the Annual Meeting Opening Ceremonies, the Leadership Fellows Program (LFP) Class of 2004 graduated, and a new class was introduced. They later had the opportunity to meet with alumni and mentors during a reception. In early April, the LFP Class of 2005 kicked off their year of meetings and study with a two-day orientation session.

Class of 2005
Members of the Class of 2005 and their mentors are: Albert J. Aboulafia, MD, mentored by Robert D. D'Ambrosia, MD; Laurel C. Blakemore, MD, mentored by Michael F. Schafer, MD; Kevin Bozic, MD, mentored by Mark D. Brown, MD; John M. Flynn, MD, mentored by Andrew J. Weiland, MD; Jeffrey A. Guy, MD, mentored by Clarence L. Shields Jr., MD; Steven L. Haddad, MD, mentored by Shepard R. Hurwitz, MD; Valerae O. Lewis, MD, mentored by Ramon L. Jimenez, MD; David C. Markel, MD, mentored by Stuart L. Hirsch, MD; William R. Martin III, MD, mentored by Laura L. Tosi, MD; Steven J. Morgan, MD, mentored by S. Terry Canale, MD; Charles L. Nelson, MD, mentored by Carl L. Nelson, MD; William K. Payne III, MD, mentored by Peter C. Amadio, MD; Robert L. Randall, MD, mentored by Mark C. Gebhardt, MD; Ellen M. Raney, MD, mentored by Maureen A. Finnegan, MD; and Richard A. Schaefer, MD, mentored by Richard J. Haynes, MD.

Established in December 2001, the LFP identifies future leaders from the younger members of AAOS who have little previous volunteer or leadership experience and prepares them to assume roles of responsibility within AAOS.

The LFP combines didactic leadership training with an ongoing mentoring program that matches the participants with an established leader within the orthopaedic community. The role of mentor is viewed as an integral part of the LFP program. As advisor and confidant to the LFP fellow, the mentor fosters a close professional and personal relationship that continues throughout the fellowship year and beyond.

The LFP curriculum uses meetings, lectures, assigned reading and regular conference calls to foster these relationships and to delve into the meaning and actions of “leadership.” It also builds a shared experience for fellows to build meaningful relationships.

Graduating Fellows
The 2004 graduating class included: Judith F. Baumhauer, MD; Craig H. Bennett, MD; Gregory A. Brown, MD; Frances A. Farley, MD; James C. Farmer, MD; Thomas R. Hunt, MD; Matthew L. Jimenez, MD; Tamara Lynn Martin, MD; Ronald A. Navarro, MD; Bradley J. Nelson, MD; Michael L. Parks, MD; Susan Scherl, MD; Susan E. Stephens, MD; David D. Teucher, MD, and Robert H.Wilson, MD.

Home Previous Page