AAOS Bulletin - April, 2005

Researchers honored during Annual Meeting

Recipients of the 2005 Kappa Delta Awards, the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Award and the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS) awards were among those honored for their research during the 2005 Annual Meeting.

Kappa Delta awards

The Kappa Delta sorority award winners were formally presented with their plaques during the Opening Ceremonies. Gunnar B.J. Andersson, MD, PhD, chairman of the Research Committee, said, “The Kappa Delta awards have become the Nobel Prize in orthopaedics. We are grateful to the Kappa Delta Sorority for their many years of generous support.”

The Young Investigator Award went to Edward M. Schwarz, PhD, for his paper on “Utility of Recombinant Adeno-Associated Virus Vectors for Orthopaedic Gene Therapy.”

The Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award went to Darryl D. D’Lima, MD; Martin K. Lotz, MD; and Clifford Colwell Jr., MD, for “Cartilage Injury Chondrocyte Apoptosis and Matrix Degradation: In Vitro, In Vivo, and Clinical Consequences.”

The Ann Doner Vaughan Award went to Paul D. Robbins, PhD, and Steven C. Ghivizzani, PhD, for “Gene Delivery Approaches to the Treatment of Orthopaedic Disorders.”

The Kappa Delta and OREF Clinical Research Award winners proudly display their award plaques: (from left, first row) Edward M. Schwarz, PhD; Steven C. Ghivizzani, PhD; Minider S. Kocher, MD, MPH; (standing rear, from left) Gunnar B.J. Andersson, MD, chair of the AAOS Research Committee; Clifford Colwell Jr., MD; Darryl D. D'Lima, MD; Paul D. Robbins, PhD; and Julie Johnson, national president of the Kappa Delta sorority

The Kappa Delta awards originated in 1947, during the sorority’s Golden Anniversary. The Kappa Delta Research Fellowship in Orthopaedics was the first award ever honoring achievements in orthopaedic research. The first annual award, a single stipend of $1,000, was presented at the 1950 Annual Meeting.

Since then, the Kappa Delta Awards have been presented annually to individuals who have performed research in orthopaedic surgery that is of high significance and impact.

In 1961, the sorority increased the number of awards from one to three, and over time, their dollar value has been raised to $20,000 each. Two awards are named for Kappa Delta national presidents who were instrumental in their creation: Elizabeth Winston Lanier and Ann Doner Vaughan. The third is the Young Investigator’s Award.

Over the years, the Kappa Delta awards have totaled more than $1 million. Many recipients have cited the Kappa Delta awards as having been the decisive factor in encouraging them to continue in the field of research.

OREF awards

The 2005 OREF Clinical Research Award went to Minider S. Kocher, MD, MPH, along with colleagues David Zurakowski, PhD, and James R. Kasser, MD, from the department of orthopaedic surgery, Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School. Their research project is “Septic Arthritis of the Hip in Children: An Evidence-Based Approach to Improving Clinical Effectiveness.”

The OREF Clinical Research Award was created to encourage clinical research in orthopaedics and was first presented in 1994. It also includes a $20,000 stipend.

“Evidence-based medicine involves the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients,” wrote Dr. Kocher and his colleagues about their research. “The overall goal of our guideline was to provide clinicians with an analytical framework for the evaluation and treatment of children with septic arthritis.”

Dr. Kocher also received an OREF Health Services Fellowship Award in 1997.

This year’s recipient of the Thomas M. Coffman Career Development Award was Joseph Borrelli Jr., MD, for his project: “In Vivo Cartilage Changes After Mechanical Injury.” David C. Markel, MD, also received a Career Development Award, which he will use to study “Inflammatory Monocytes and Aseptic Loosening.”

Prospective Clinical Research Grants were awarded to Kenneth J. Koval, MD; Eric C. McCarty, MD, and David S. Ruch, MD. Saam Morshed, MD, took home the Fellowship in Health Services Research.

Research grants were awarded to: William R. Creevy, MD; C. Benjamin Ma, MD; Martha M. Murray, MD; Bradley J. Nelson, MD; Kenneth J. Noonan, MD; and Howell C. Sasser, Ph.D. Resident Research Awards were given to: Mohana Amirtharajah, MD; Brandon E. Earp, MD; Michael J. Gardner, MD; Afshin Khalafi, MD; Paul Kraemer, MD; Jennifer L. Kummer, MD; Patrick M. Morgan, MD and Jian Shen, MD, PhD.

The six Orthopaedic Career Development Awards funded by Zimmer Holdings, Inc., went to Carl Deirmengian, MD; Reuben Gobezie, MD; R. Michael Meneghini, MD; Carol D. Morris, MD; Andrew D. Pearle, MD; and Heather A. Vallier, MD. The Directed Research Award funded by Bayer Pharmaceuticals was awarded to Joshua D. Auerbach, MD, for his project: “Two-Incision MIS THA versus Small-Incision Mini-Posterolateral THA: A Comparison of Surgical Stress and Thrombotic Potential.”

A complete listing of award winners can be found on the OREF Web site, www.oref.org

ORS awards

The Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS) presented the Marshall R. Urist Award, the ORS/American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) Alfred R. Shands Award and the William Harris Award during its annual meeting, which preceded the AAOS Annual Meeting.

The Marshall R. Urist Award, which recognizes cutting-edge research in tissue regeneration, was presented to Antonios G. Mikos, PhD, of Rice University, in Houston.

The ORS/AOA Alfred R. Shands Award was created in 2002 to recognize a senior contributor in the field of orthopaedics. The 2005 award was presented to AAOS President Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, of the University of Iowa, Iowa City.

The William Harris Award, created in 1996 and sponsored by the Harris Fellows Club, recognizes basic and/or clinical research involving the hip. This year’s award was presented to Brian Elmengaard, MD, of Aarhus University Hospital, Aarhus, Denmark.

Submissions for 2006

The AAOS is currently soliciting manuscripts for the 2006 Kappa Delta Awards and the OREF Clinical Research Award. Manuscripts should represent a large body of cohesive scientific work generally reflecting years of investigation. If the submission reflects a single project, it should be of high significance and impact. Manuscripts must be submitted by members (or candidate members) of the AAOS, ORS, Canadian Orthopaedic Association or Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society.

All submissions for the 2006 awards are due no later than July 1, 2005. For more information, contact Christy M.P. Gilmour, manager, medical research at (847)384-4323.

Close Archives | Previous Page