AAOS Bulletin - April, 2005

Dr. Weinstein assumes AAOS presidency

Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, was elected the 73rd president of the AAOS on February 25 during the 2005 Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. Dr. Weinstein will focus his term on patient-centered care, achieving medical liability reform, orthopaedic unity and increased coordination of advocacy efforts. Dr. Weinstein is also dedicated to strengthening educational programs to help members meet the commitment to life-long learning and periodic self-assessment mandated by the Maintenance of Certification process.

Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, pledges “Nothing about you, wihout you” during his presidential address at the AAOS Annual Meeting

Dr. Weinstein earned his medical degree from the University of Iowa in Iowa City, where he is currently the Ignacio V. Ponseti Chair and a professor of orthopaedic surgery. He interned in internal medicine at the University of California in San Francisco and then returned to the University of Iowa for a residency in orthopaedic surgery.

Specializing in pediatric and spinal deformity orthopaedic surgery, Dr. Weinstein has focused his research on spinal deformity in children, children’s hip and foot problems, and the natural history and long-term outcome of pediatric musculoskeletal conditions.

Dr. Weinstein has been involved with the Academy for nearly 25 years, serving on many AAOS task forces and education committees, such as the Council on Education. Active in numerous professional organizations, Dr. Weinstein is currently chairman of the International Center for Orthopaedic Education and chairman of Doctors for Medical Liability Reform. He is past president of the American Orthopaedic Association (AOA), the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, the Pediatric Society of North America, and the United States National Action Network of the International Bone and Joint Decade. Dr. Weinstein has also served as an associate editor and a member of the Board of Trustees of the Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery.

A prolific author, Dr. Weinstein has published more than 145 scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals and written various book chapters on a wide variety of pediatric orthopaedic conditions. He has also edited three major textbooks including: The Pediatric Spine: Principles and Practice, Lovell and Winter’s Pediatric Orthopaedics and Turek’s Orthopaedics.

Dr. Weinstein has received numerous awards and honors throughout his career including: the Bristol-Myers Squibb/Zimmer Award for Distinguished Achievement in Orthopaedic Research; the Kappa Delta/Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation Clinical Research Award; the Russell Hibbs Award for Clinical Research given by the Scoliosis Research Society; and the Arthur H. Heune Memorial Award, given by the St. Giles Foundation and the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, in recognition of outstanding research contributions to pediatric orthopaedics. He is the 2005 recipient of the Orthopaedic Research Society/AOA Alfred R. Shands Award recognizing significant contributions in orthopaedics. Dr. Weinstein has also served as a presidential guest speaker for multiple international orthopaedic associations and has been honored with memberships in national and pediatric orthopaedic associations around the world including Australia, New Zealand, Germany, Great Britain and Argentina.

Close Archives | Previous Page