April 1996 Bulletin

Board of Directors

The 1996-1997 Academy Board of Directors was elected during the 63rd Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Ga. Serving as the chief administrative authority of the Academy, the board will direct activities and determine policies for the Academy during the coming year.

The board is comprised of five officers (president, first vice president, second vice president, secretary, and treasurer); two past presidents; four members-at-large (one over age 45, two under age 45, and one with no age designation); the chairman, chairman-elect, and secretary of the Board of Councilors; and the chairman and chairman-elect of the Council of Musculoskeletal Specialty Societies. Academy executive vice president William W. Tipton Jr., MD, serves as ex-officio member of the board.


Kenneth E. DeHaven, MD

Professor and associate chairman, and director of athletic medicine, the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, Rochester, N.Y.

First Vice President

Douglas W. Jackson, MD

Medical director, Southern California Center for Sports Medicine; research director, Orthopaedic Research Institute, Memorial Medical Center, Long Beach, Calif.

Second Vice President

James D. Heckman, MD

Professor and chairman, department of orthopaedics, University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio and director of the department's orthopaedic residency training program; chief, fracture service, University Hospital; director, sports medicine services, The University of Texas at San Antonio.


D. Eugene Thompson, MD

Practicing orthopaedic surgeon, William Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, Mich.


James H. Herndon, MD, MBA

David Silver Professor and chairman, department of orthopaedic surgery, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine; associate senior vice chancellor for the health sciences, vice president for medical services, and chief of orthopaedics and rehabilitation at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, Pa.

John J. Callaghan, MD

Professor, department of orthopaedics, University of Iowa College of Medicine; on staff, Veterans Hospital, Iowa City, Iowa.

Richard D. Coutts, MD

Adjunct professor, department of orthopaedics and rehabilitation, University of California; chief of hip service, Veterans Administration Medical Center; medical director of orthopaedics, Donald N. Sharp Memorial Hospital; president of the Malcolm and Dorothy Coutts Institute for Joint Reconstruction and Research, San Diego, Calif.

Serena S. Hu, MD

Assistant professor in residence, department of orthopaedic surgery, and staff member, University of California, San Francisco, Calif.

Richard F. Kyle, MD

Associate professor of the department of orthopaedic surgery, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis. He is chairman, department of orthopaedic surgery, and medical director, biomechanics laboratory, Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis.

George L. Lucas, MD

Professor and chairman, section of orthopaedic surgery, department of surgery, University of Kansas School of Medicine; program director, University of Kansas/Via Christi-St. Francis Regional Medical Center and Affiliated Hospitals orthopaedic residency program; staff member, Columbia-Wesley Medical Center and the Veterans Administration Hospital, Wichita, Kan.

David R. Mauerhan, MD

Division chief, Adult Reconstruction and Joint Replacement, Carolinas Medical Center Orthopaedic Residency Program; on staff, Presbyterian Orthopaedic Hospital, Charlotte Institute of Rehabilitation, and University Memorial Hospital, Charlotte, N.C.

Bernard F. Morrey, MD

Professor and chairman, department of orthopaedic surgery, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.

Edward A. Rankin, MD

Clinical professor of orthopaedic surgery, Howard University College of Medicine; clinical associate professor, School of Medicine, Georgetown University; chief of orthopaedic surgery, Providence Hospital, Washington, D.C.

Scott B. Scutchfield, MD

Assistant clinical professor, department of orthopaedic surgery, University of Kentucky College of Medicine, Lexington, Ky.

James W. Strickland, MD

Clinical professor, department of orthopaedic surgery, Indiana University School of Medicine; chairman, department of hand surgery, St. Vincent Hospital, Indianapolis.

Robert A. Winquist, MD

Clinical professor, University of Washington; on staff, Swedish Hospital Medical Center, Seattle, Wash.

Home Previous Page