April 1996 Bulletin

OREF receives contribution of $1 million

Dennis K. Collins, MD, president of the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF), announced the receipt of an unrestricted contribution of $1 million by Dane Miller, PhD and his wife, Warsaw, Ind. "This is the largest single-year contribution ever received by OREF from an individual or corporation," Dr. Collins said. "We are delighted that Dr. and Mrs. Miller have chosen OREF as a way to express their interest and support of the orthopaedic specialty. We are hopeful that others will choose to follow this wonderful example and step forward to help OREF become increasingly responsive to the need for research and education funding.

Miller, president and co-founder of Biomet, Inc., said "the specialty of orthopaedics has been good to me and my family. My wife, Mary Louise, and I believe that making this contribution to OREF is one of the ways we can 'give something back.' We also felt that the contribution should be unrestricted and that the OREF Board of Trustees is in the best position to determine how best to maximize the use of the funds. In particular, OREF's peer review system is time-tested and widely-respected for its ability to evaluate applications for funding."

The OREF Board of Trustees will discuss the specific use of the $1 million contribution. The funds will likely be added to the endowment, the interest of which provides much needed annual support for research and education programs.

Founded in 1955 by the Academy, the American Orthopaedic Association, and the Orthopaedic Research Society, OREF has provided more than $30 million for research and education programs around the nation.

The Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation Clinical Research Award was presented to Donald C. Fithian, MD, left, and Mrs. Dale M. Daniel, MD, representing her late husband, by Roby C. Thompson, Jr., MD, OREF vice president of grants and chairman of the OREF Peer Review Committee, center; and Michael G. Erlich, MD, right, chairman of the Committe on Research.

Home Previous Page