April 1997 Bulletin

1997-1998 Academy Board of Directors

The 1997-1998 Academy Board of Directors was elected during the 64th Annual Meeting in San Francisco. Serving as the chief administrative authority of the Academy, the board will direct activities and determine policies for the Academy during the coming year.

The board is comprised of five officers (president, first vice president, second vice president, secretary and treasurer); two past presidents; four members-at-large (one over age 45, two under age 45, and one with no age designation); the chairman, chairman-elect and secretary of the Board of Councilors; and the chairman and chairman-elect of the Council of Musculoskeletal Specialty Societies. Academy executive vice president William W. Tipton Jr., MD, serves as ex-officio of the board.

Board of Directors


Douglas W. Jackson, MD
Medical director, Orthopaedic Research Institute, Memorial Medical Center, Long Beach, Calif.; private orthopaedic practice, Long Beach.

First Vice President

James D. Heckman, MD
Professor and chairman, department of orthopaedics, University of Texas Health Science Center and director of the department's orthopaedic residency training program; chief, fracture service, University Hospital, San Antonio.

Second Vice President

Robert D. D'Ambrosia, MD
Professor and chairman, department of orthopaedics, Louisiana State University Medical Center, New Orleans.


S. Terry Canale, MD
Professor, department of orthopaedic surgery, University of Tennessee College of Medicine; chief, department of pediatric orthopaedics, LeBonheur Children's Hospital, Memphis; chief of staff, The Campbell Clinic, Germantown, Tenn.


Stuart A. Hirsch, MD
Chief of orthopaedics and chairman, department of orthopaedics, Somerset Medical Center, Somerville, N.J.; practicing orthopaedic surgeon, BioSport Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine Associates, Bridgewater, N.J.

John A. Bergfeld, MD
Head, section of sports medicine, department of orthopaedic surgery, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland.

John J. Callaghan, MD
Professor, department of orthopaedics, University of Iowa College of Medicine; on staff, Veterans Hospital, Iowa City, Iowa.

Richard D. Coutts, MD
Adjunct professor, department of orthopaedics and rehabilitation, University of California-San Diego; chief of hip service, Veterans Administration Medical Center; medical director of orthopaedics, the Sharp Healthcare System; president of the board of directors, the Malcolm and Dorothy Coutts Institute for Joint Reconstruction and Research, San Diego.

Alvin H. Crawford, MD
Professor of pediatrics and orthopaedic surgery, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine; director of pediatric orthopaedic surgery, Children's Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati.

Kenneth E. DeHaven, MD
Professor and associate chairman, and director of athletic medicine, the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry; senior surgeon, Strong Memorial Hospital, Rochester, N.Y.

George L. Lucas, MD
Professor and chairman, section of orthopaedic surgery, department of surgery, University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita; program director, University of Kansas/Via Christi-St. Francis Regional Medical Center and Affiliated Hospitals orthopaedic residency program; staff member, Columbia-Wesley Medical Center, Wichita, Kan.

James W. Strickland, MD
Clinical professor, department of orthopaedic surgery, Indiana University School of Medicine; chairman, department of hand surgery, St. Vincent Hospital, Indianapolis.

Edward A. Rankin, MD
Clinical professor of orthopaedic surgery, Howard University College of Medicine; clinical associate professor, School of Medicine, Georgetown University; chief of orthopaedic surgery, Providence Hospital, Washington, D.C.

Aaron G. Rosenberg, MD
Professor, department of orthopaedic surgery, Rush Medical College; senior attending physician in orthopaedic surgery, Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center, Chicago.

Scott B. Scutchfield, MD
Private practice, Danville Orthopaedic Associates; on staff, Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center, Danville, Ky.; associate clinical professor, department of orthopaedic surgery, University of Kentucky College of Medicine, Lexington, Ky.

Edward A. Toriello, MD
Chief, department of orthopaedic surgery, Wyckoff Heights Medical Center, Brooklyn, N.Y.; attending orthopaedic surgeon, St. John's Queens Hospital, Catholic Medical Center, Queens, N.Y.

Home Previous Page