August 2003 Bulletin

Winners of the first Case Authors contest announced

U-Mass orthopaedic residents take first place; win recognition, laptop PC

By Carolyn Rogers

Five orthopaedic residency programs took home honors in the Academy's first annual competition designed to reward the next generation of orthopaedic surgeons–and their mentors–for authoring interesting, accurate, interactive, educationally sound and medically-appropriate case presentations. The winners were announced in early June.

"We know that many residency programs are already doing a fantastic job of developing the case-writing skills of their residents," explains Jay D. Mabrey, MD, chair of the Electronic Media Education Committee, which conducted the contest. "With this competition, the Academy hopes to acknowledge the strengths of those programs and to identify and reward the best and the brightest of the residents who will be educating their fellow AAOS members with the case-based programs of the future."

And the winners are…

First Place: "Hip dislocation and symptomatic loose bodies"


David Prybyla, MD, (resident)

Brett Owens, MD, (resident)
with Brian D. Busconi, MD (AAOS Fellow)
University of Massachusetts Medical Center
Prize: Dell laptop computer


Second Place: "Radiolucent lesions in the tibia"

Authors: Kathleen S. Beebe, MD (resident) with Joseph Benevenia, MD (AAOS Fellow)
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey–New Jersey Medical School
Prize: Digital video camera

Tied for Third Place: "Multidirectional instability: A volleyball player's dilemma"

Authors: Sam Akhavan, MD, (resident) with Brian N. Victoroff, MD (AAOS Fellow)
University Hospitals of Cleveland
Prize: Digital camera

"Anterior instability after total arthroplasty" Authors: Michael J. DeFranco, MD, (resident) with Joseph P. Iannotti, MD (AAOS Fellow)
The Cleveland Clinic
Prize: Digital camera

Honorable Mention: "Ankle fractures" Authors: Cory L. Calendine, MD, (resident) with William T. Obremskey, MD, MPH (AAOS Fellow)
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Prize: Academy multimedia products

Winners earn prizes, recognition

Winning authors will be honored at the 2004 AAOS Annual Meeting, and the Electronic Media Education Committee may post the best cases on the AAOS Web site's Orthopaedic Campus Medical Center as part of a new online CME program. The prizes mentioned above were awarded to the residency programs rather than to the authors.

Judging criteria

Each of the 12 cases submitted this year was subjected to a blind review by orthopaedic surgeons who specialize in the subject matter of the case. All of the cases received written comments and tips on what the residents could do to improve their case-development skills. Judging criteria included:

Contest eligibility/guidelines

Any U.S. or Canadian-based orthopaedic residency program was eligible for the Case Authors' competition. Cases could be authored by teams of no fewer than one faculty member and one resident, and no more than one faculty member, one orthopaedic fellow and three residents.

Cases had to be based on the actual outcomes of real patients and on original materials. Any non-original supporting material had to be completely and accurately identified.

Selection process "difficult"

Dr. Mabrey says "the selection process was difficult because all of the submitted cases were excellent." The winning cases received the highest marks for content, educational value and presentation.

Judges included Dr. Mabrey and the following members of the Electronic Media Education Committee: Judith F. Baumhauer, MD; Brian J. Cole, MD; William W. Colman, MD; Michael L. Pearl, MD; Scott P. Steinmann, MD; Steven A. Stuchin, MD; Richard Uhl, MD; William J. Richardson, MD; and Aaron G. Rosenberg, MD.

2004 competition

Submissions for the 2004 competition are due in late January 2004. Visit the Academy's online Orthopaedic Campus Medical Center for information on the 2004 competition.

Home Previous Page