December 2004 Bulletin

2005 Nominating Committee elected

For the second consecutive year, the AAOS conducted the Nominating Committee election in-house. Of a total 20,370 contacted eligible voters (defined as active, emeritus and inactive AAOS fellows), 5,471 returned ballots, nearly 98 percent of which were valid (defined as identifiable ballots with exactly six votes).

The six elected members of the 2005 Nominating Committee are: Joseph A. Buckwalter, MD (Iowa); Richard D. Coutts, MD (Calif.); Howard R. Epps, MD (Texas); Augusto Sarmiento, MD (Fla.); James W. Strickland, MD (Ind.); and Roby C. Thompson, Jr., MD (Minn.)

Dan M. Spengler, MD, will serve as the alternate member of the Committee.The chair of the committee is Richard H. Gelberman, MD, who was appointed by the Board of Directors at its meeting in June 2004.

The 2005 Nominating Committee will make its recommendation regarding the following positions during the business meeting of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons on Friday, February 25, 2005:

The 2005 Nominating Committee welcomes your recommendations of individuals who might serve. Submit your recommendations by Dec. 31, 2004, to: Richard Gelberman, MD, 2005 Nominating Committee, c/o AAOS Office of General Counsel, 6300 N. River Rd., Rosemont, IL 60018.

Home Previous Page