February 1999 Bulletin

Orthopaedic research cited

Four orthopaedic researchers were honored at the 66th Annual meeting of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons with awards from Kappa Delta Sorority and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF).

Kappa Delta's Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award was presented to Thomas A. Einhorn, MD, professor and chairman, department of orthopaedic surgery, Boston University School of Medicine, for developing new strategies to treat broken bones that have not healed properly and for documenting the complex physiological process involved in normal healing of fractures.

Scott D. Boden, MD,director of the Emory Spine Center and associate professor of orthopaedics, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta received Kappa Delta's Young Investigator Award for his groundbreaking pilot study on the use of bone graft substitutes in spine fusions and the discovery of a new gene that triggers bone formation. Dr. Boden is also on the staff of the Atlanta VA Medical Center, where a significant portion of his molecular biology research is performed.

Kappa Delta's Ann Doner Vaughn Award was given to Julia A. Bridge, MD, associate professor of pathology/microbiology, pediatrics and orthopaedic surgery, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, Neb. for her pioneering genetic research on more than 3,500 benign and malignant bone and soft tissue tumors by cytogenetic and molecular genetic methods.

L. Andrew Koman, MD, professor, department of orthopaedic surgery and department of pediatrics, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Winston-Salem, N.C. received the OREF Clinical Research Award for studies of the abnormalities that can cause patients to lose their normal ability to regulate body temperature.

Home Previous Page