January 1997 Bulletin

Dr. Rockwood inducted into Hall of Fame

Charles A. Rockwood Jr., MD, professor and chairman emeritus of the department of orthopaedics at the University of Texas Medical Center, San Antonio, was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in November.

Dr. Rockwood, 1984 president of the Academy, and five other native Oklahomans were honored for distinguished service and achievement. Others honored were Keith E. Bailey, chairman, president and chief executive officer, The Williams Companies; Kay A. Orr, former Governor of Nebraska; Dr. William R. Bright, founder of Campus Crusade for Christ; U.S. Sen. James M. Inhofe (R-Okla.); and Robert E. Lorton, president of World Publishing Company, which publishes the Tulsa World newspaper.

Kenneth E. DeHaven, MD, Academy president, introduced Dr. Rockwood at the induction ceremonies. The program is sponsored by the Oklahoma Hertitage Association, a non-profit organization.

Home Previous Page