AAOS Bulletin - June, 2005

AAOS/OREF announce fellowship winners

The AAOS and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) are pleased to announce the winners of the 2005-2006 Traveling Fellowship. In addition, the AAOS Clinician Scientist Programs Committee, in conjunction with the OREF and the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS), has selected 13 residents for the AAOS/OREF/ORS Clinician Scientist Development Program.

Traveling Fellowship

The Clinician Scientist Programs Committee selected three participants for the 2005-2006 AAOS/OREF Traveling Fellowship Program. The Traveling Fellowship Program provides aspiring orthopaedic clinician scientists the opportunity to conduct one or more site visits at their proposed mentor(s) institution. The selected Fellows are: John C. Clohisy, MD, Washington University, St. Louis; Steven Leitman, MD, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland; and Sheldon S. Lin, MD, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, Newark, N.J.

Development Program

The Clinician Scientist Programs Committee selected 13 residents to attend the 2005 AAOS/OREF/ORS Clinician Scientist Development Program, June 20-23, 2005, in Huntington Beach, Calif. This program is designed to provide prospective clinician scientists with an extensive orientation to orthopaedic research and their opportunities in the field. The seminar is held in conjunction with the American Orthopaedic Association/

OREF/Zimmer Resident Leadership Forum at the AOA’s annual meeting.

The 13 selected residents are: Jamio Ahn, MD, University of Pennsylvania; Matthew E. Cunningham, MD, Hospital for Special Surgery; Nicole Deal, MD, Bowman Grey School of Medicine; Saadiq El-Amin, MD, University of Virginia; Michael J. Gardner, MD, Hospital for Special Surgery; Jerry Huang, MD, Case Western Reserve University; Kevin Jones, MD, University of Iowa; Sanjeev Kakar, MD, Boston University; Jennifer Kummer, MD, University of Chicago; T. Thomas Liu, MD, University of Pittsburgh; Saam Morshed, MD, University of California San Francisco; Leon Nesti, MD, Walter Reed Army Medical Center; and Dhruv Pateder, Johns Hopkins University.

Close Archives | Previous Page