AAOS Bulletin - June, 2006

AAOS, ORS recognize research efforts at 2006 Annual Meeting

During the 2006 Annual Meeting, the AAOS recognized the research efforts of physicians, clinical scientists and educators in a variety of ways—from the presentation of the Kappa Delta and Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) awards to the naming of best posters, multimedia education materials and scientific exhibits.

In addition, the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS) also honored individual and group efforts to advance the practice of orthopaedics during its annual meeting, which immediately preceded the AAOS Annual Meeting.

(From left) Gunnar B.J. Andersson, MD, chair of the AAOS Research Development Committee, poses with winners of the 2006 Kappa Delta Awards: Michele Doucet, MS; Kristy Weber, MD; Ton-Chuan He, MD, PhD; Rex C. Haydon, MD, PhD; Ranjan Gupta, MD, and Kappa Delta representative Wendy Shelton Sire, national vice-president, finance.

Kappa Delta/OREF award winners

The Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award went to Ranjan Gupta, MD; Laura S. Rummler, MS; Tahseen Mozaffar, MD; and Oswald Steward, PhD, for their paper titled “Schwann cell regulation of chronic nerve injury.”

Recipients of the Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughan Award were Tong-Chuan He, MD, PhD, and Rex C. Haydon, MD, PhD, for their research into defining “The Distinct Roles of Bone Morphogenetic Proteins in Mesenchymal Stem Cell Differentiation.”

Kappa Delta’s Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award was presented to Kristy Weber, MD; Michele Doucet, MS; and Scott Kominsky, PhD, for a paper titled “Growth Factor Receptor Signaling Blockade in Renal Cell Carcinoma Bone Metastasis.”

The 2006 OREF Clinical Research Award was given to the authors of “Using clinical and economic outcome data to influence health policy in the United States: The case of total joint replacement.” Principal investigator on the study was Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA, along with Patricia Katz, PhD; Jonathan Showstack, PhD; James Naessens, MPH; Harry E. Rubash, MD; Michael D. Ries, MD; and Daniel J. Berry, MD.

Poster award winners

The poster awards, announced during “Breakfast in the Posters,” went to:

Hip/Overall: “A minimum 5-year follow-up of highly crosslinked polyethylene (HXLPE) liners in total hip replacement,” submitted by Jeffrey Geller, MD; Murali Jasty, MD; Dennis W. Burke, MD; Harry E. Rubash, MD; Andrew A. Freiberg, MD; William H. Harris, MD; Henrik Malchau, MD; Charles R. Bragdon, BS; and Meredith E. Greene, BS.

Knee: Poster P195, “White blood cell gene expression: Differentiating infection from aseptic loosening in total knee arthroplasty (TKA),” submitted by Carl A. Deirmengian, MD; Robert E. Booth Jr., MD; and Jess H. Lonner, MD.

Foot/Ankle: Poster P219, “Percutaneous reduction and fixation of displaced intra-articular calcaneus fractures,” submitted by Matthew DeWall, MD; J. Lawrence Marsh, MD; and Todd O. McKinley, MD.

Hand/Wrist: Poster P237, “The microbiology of upper extremity agricultural trauma,” submitted by Nathan A. Hoekzema, MD; Mir H. Ali, MD; Douglas R. Osmon, MD; Alexander Yong Shik Shin, MD; and Mohanad Bakleh, MD.

Pediatrics: Poster P254; “Congenital vs. acquired limb lengthening in children,” submitted by Valentin Antoci Sr., MD; Craig M. Ono, MD; Ellen M. Raney, MD; and Valentine Antoci Jr.

Practice Management: Poster P278, “Reuse of external fixation components: A prospective randomized trial,” submitted by Paul Tornetta III, MD; Thomas A. Einhorn, MD; William R. Creevy, MD; Jodi Siegel, MD; Rafael Levin, MD; and Jinsil Sung, MD.

Rehabilitation: Poster P285, “Does ipsilateral hip dysfunction cause contralateral knee degeneration?” submitted by Michael A. Mont, MD; Ronald Delanois, MD; Phillip Ragland, MD; and Anil Bhave, MS.

Shoulder/Elbow: Poster P311, “Diagnostic value of high-resolution magnetic resonance (MR) imaging with a microscopy coil in rotator cuff tears,” submitted by Minoru Tanaka, MD; Yuichi Tojo, MD; Honda Masahito; Otani Hiroshi, MD; Shin Hitachi; MD; and Shiro Tabata, MD, of Iwaki, Japan.

Spine: Poster P352, “Administration of human matrix metalloproteinase (MMP) to herniated nucleus pulposus (HNP)—facilitating natural resorption process,” submitted by Hiromichi Komori, MD; Kenichi Shinomiya, MD; Dan M. Spengler, MD; Hirotaka Haro, MD; and Yoshiki Hamada, MD.

Sports Medicine: Poster P452, “ACL reconstruction in the chronic ACL-deficient knee with degenerative medial arthrosis,” submitted by Rodney W. Benner, MS, and K. Donald Shelbourne, MD.

Trauma: Poster P475, “Fixation of posterior malleolar fractures for syndesmotic stability,” submitted by Michael J. Gardner, MD; Adam R. Brodsky, MD; Stephen M. Briggs, PA-C; Dean G. Lorich, MD; and Jason H. Nielson, MD.

Tumors: Poster P550, “Outcome of proximal tibia osteoarticular allografts reconstruction after tumor resections,” submitted by D. Luis Muscolo, MD; Miguel Angel Ayerza, MD; Louis Alberto Aponte-Tinao, MD; Eduardo Abalo, MD; and Sebastian Bettera, MD.

Scientific exhibits

Three scientific exhibits were honored during the meeting:

SE03, “Revision Hip Arthroplasty with Porous Tantalum Augments and Acetabular Shells,” submitted by David G. Lewallen, MD; Robert Michael Meneghini, MD; Robert A. Poggie, PhD; and Arlen D. Hanssen, MD.

SE10, “Vascularity of the Arthritic Femoral Head and Its Implications in Resurfacing Arthroplasty of the Hip,” submitted by Paul E. Beaule, MD; Patricia A. Campbell, PhD; Zhen Lu; Martin Beck, MD; Michael Leunig, MD; Bert J. Thomas, MD; and Reinhold Ganz, MD.

SE29, “Computer-Assisted vs. Manual TKA: A Case-Controlled Study,” submitted by S. David Stulberg, MD; Mark A. Yaffe, BS; and Samuel Koo, MD.

Award-winning multimedia

The Multimedia Education Center featured three award-winning DVD programs, chosen for their high production values, technical quality, educational merit and clinical relevance.

The outstanding video programs include: 21-Point Arthroscopic Examination of the Ankle by Mark J. Albritton, MD, and Richard D. Ferkel, MD; Management of Trigger Finger from Injection to Surgery by Randy Bindra, MD; and Treatment of Posterior SLAP and Labral Tears by Keith D. Nord, MD, and Todd Gothelf, MD.

ORS award winners

The ORS presented several of its signature research awards during its annual meeting.

The Harris Award, recognizing research involving the hip, went to Toru Moro, MD, PhD, and coauthors Yoshio Takatori, MD; Kazuhiko Ishihara, PhD; Tomohiro Konno, PhD; Hiroaki Takadama; Noboru Yamawaki; Masayuki Kyomoto, MS; Kozo Nakamura, MD; and Hiroshi Kawaguchi, MD, for their paper on “Extending longevity of artificial hip joints by surface grafting on cross-linked polyethylene liner with biocompatible MPC polymer.”

Showing off their award are winners of the 2006 OREF Clinical Research Award: (from left) Michael D. Ries, MD; Gunnar B.J. Andersson, MD, chair of the AAOS Research Development Committee; Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA; Harry E. Rubash, MD, and Daniel J. Berry, MD

The Marshall Urist Award, presented to a cutting-edge researcher in tissue regeneration, went to Farshid Guilak, PhD.

The ORS/American Orthopaedic Association Alfred R. Shands Award and Lecture was delivered by Jorge O. Galante, MD, recognizing his lifetime contributions to the field of orthopaedic research.

The Arthur Steindler Award and Lecture, which is given only every other year to a researcher outside the United States, was presented to Hans-Georg Willert, MD, of Göttingen, Germany, for his significant contributions to the understanding of musculoskeletal disease.

Career Development Fellowship Awards were presented to M. Hicham Drissi, PhD, and Rex C. Haydon, MD, PhD.

Close Archives | Previous Page