June 1998 Bulletin

Institute’s directors hold first meeting

The Board of Directors of the Musculoskeletal Education Research Institute (Institute), which held its first meeting May 18, consists of 11 voting members, representing the Academy, other musculoskeletal organizations, health research field, patient advocacy organizations and the orthopaedic products industry. Representing the Academy are 1996 Past President Kenneth E. DeHaven, MD; and members of the Academy's Task Force on Data Management, Barry P. Simmons, MD; Michael J. Goldberg, MD; Norman A. Johnson, MD; and Gene E. Swanson, MD.

Other musculoskeletal organizations are represented by Ronald L. Kaufman, MD, American College of Rheumatology; Richard G. Fessler, MD, PhD, American Association of Neurological Surgeons; and David A. Bergman, MD, American Academy of Pediatrics.

Matthew H. Laing, MD, The Brigham & Women's Hospital, represents the health research field; Debra R. Lappin, the Arthritis Foundation, patient advocacy organizations; and Les Sprinkle, Smith and Nephew, Inc., the orthopaedic products industry.

Home Previous Page